Solid Waste Director:
David Rhodes

Deputy Director Administration:
Michelle Ippoliti
Deputy Director of Operations:
Jeffrey Hertik

DSW Office:
Monday - Friday:
7:00 AM - 3:30 PM
DSW Landfill Scale:
Monday - Friday:
7:15 AM - 3:00 PM
7:15 AM - 11:30 AM

847 Mud Road
Johnstown NY 12095

Main Office:
(518) 736-5501
Recycling Info:
(518) 736-5504

(518) 762-2859
Find us on Facebook


The Department of Solid Waste - is located at 847 Mud Road in the Town of Johnstown, situated on 720 acres of land. The property consists of a Sanitary Landfill, a Landfill Transfer Station, a Materials Recycling Facility, Landfill Gas to Electric Facility and the Department offices. The department also manages 7 other Transfer Stations at various locations in the County.

The Sanitary Landfill - (47.9 acres) consists of 10 cells, including 1 capped cell and 1 cell that is yet to be opened. A total of 105 acres is available for actual landfill. Areas are also set aside for collecting recyclable items such as tires and metal that are then marketed to recycling companies.

The Landfill Transfer Station - services the City of Johnstown, Town of Johnstown and City of Gloversville residents. This transfer station also serves the residents of Fulton County for disposal of Tires and Freon Units (fees apply), as well as disposal of mercury containing thermostats and Fluorescent bulbs. See Transfer Stations for more information on this and the other Transfer Stations.

The Materials Recycling Facility - handles Fulton County’s single stream, electronics, and other recycling. Recycling materials are marketed or brought to other recycling facilities for further processing.

Landfill Gas to Electric Facility - In 2010, the Gas to Electric Plant began producing electricity. The public/private partnership with Archaea Energy is a revenue sharing venture by providing electricity that is sold back to the power grid. Methane gas generated by the landfill is piped to the gas plant and converted to electric with the use of special generators. The energy plant is designed to generate up to 3.2 megawatts of electricity – enough to power about 2,400 homes.

Department offices - The department offices consist of administrative offices and a maintenance garage. The County Demolition Team also operates out of this facility.